Paragraph 53 of L117 states the following:

Recognition of Accrediting Bodies

The Health and Safety Commission has recognised the five (now six) bodies listed in Appendix 1 as competent to operate voluntary accreditation schemes. Such schemes are not mandatory but recognition by the Commission is intended to help set and maintain professional training standards. This should help employers to select training organisations or lift truck suppliers who offer a good standard of training. Although employers operating their own in-house training schemes may also find it useful to have them accredited by one of the above bodies, this may not be necessary for successful schemes which operate in some companies.

So why are there six Accrediting Bodies and what is the difference between them?

For the benefit of Conference Delegates – perhaps for the first time ever – we will bring together senior representatives from each of the six Accrediting Bodies. The six Accrediting Bodies are:

• Association of Industrial Truck Trainers (AITT)

• Construction Plant Competence Scheme (CPCS)

• Independent Training Standards Scheme and Register (ITSSAR)

• Lantra

• National Plant Operators Registration Scheme Ltd (NPORS)


Peter Lennon from the HSE will explain the system of Accrediting Bodies and indicate what each has to offer. A more detailed comparison may be drawn out during the dedicated question session.

Any Questions?

Following this brief introduction we will invite the representatives of the Accrediting Bodies to answer delegate questions about the accreditation system and training generally.

Comments are closed.

Get Warehouse & Logistics News delivered to your inbox for FREE
Join over 45k subscribers